no-man boxset and Swagger

October 12, 2023

Housekeeping is a comprehensive remastered collection of no-man’s output for the OLI label between 1990-1994. Featuring the band’s first two albums Loveblows & Lovecries (1993) and Flowermouth (1994), along with the singles compilation Lovesighs (1992), the deluxe 5CD Earbook also contains outtakes, alternate versions and the band’s sessions for BBC Radio from the period (which reveal a very different, more visceral, side to the band).

no-man Housekeeping boxset

Formed by Tim Bowness and Steven Wilson, the band also included violinist Ben Coleman and the albums featured notable appearances by Mick Karn and Steve Jansen (Japan), Robert Fripp, Ian Carr, Lisa Gerard (Dead Can Dance), and soon to be Porcupine Tree members Richard Barbieri, Chris Maitland and Colin Edwin.

Containing driving electronic pop music, epic ambient rock suites and emotive groove-enhanced ballads, Housekeeping is a lovingly compiled tribute to the creative anomaly that is (and was) no-man.

Designed by Carl Glover, the hardback book includes essays by Matt Hammers (author of no-man blog, All The Blue Changes), Tim Bowness and Steven Wilson, alongside rare photos and memorabilia.

A companion release to Housekeeping, Swagger chronicles the in-between period that came after the initial, wildly eclectic Tim Bowness / Steven Wilson studio experiments of 1987 and 1988, and prior to no-man signing its first record deal in 1991. It mostly captures the band making a propulsive Electro-Rock music and forging a fresh and more flamboyant identity courtesy of new recruit, virtuoso violinist Ben Coleman.

no-man Swagger

Featuring Steven Wilsons guitar playing to the fore and Tim Bowness’s “before voice”, Swagger contains 45 minutes of music – 6 unreleased songs and 3 early versions of pieces that ended up on later releases – and showcases a hungry band making its alternate universe debut album.

On CD, limited edition cassette and 180g sky blue vinyl, Swagger is a Burning Shed exclusive.

Pre-order Housekeeping and Swagger.


CD1. Lovesighs – An Entertainment
1. Heartcheat Pop
2. Days in the Trees – US remix
3. Drink Judas
4. Heartcheat Motel
5. Kiss Me Stupid
6. Colours
7. Iris Murdoch Cut Me Up
8. Days in the Trees – Reich
9. Days in the Trees – Ives
10. Days in the Trees – Bartok
11. Walker
12. Road

CD2. Loveblows and Lovecries – A Confession
1. Loveblow
2. Only Baby
3. Housekeeping
4. Sweetheart Raw
5. Lovecry
6. Tulip
7. Break Heaven
8. Beautiful and Cruel
9. Painting Paradise
10. Heaven’s Break
11. Taking It Like a Man
12. Babyship Blue
13. Tulip – unedited master

CD3. Singles
1. Ocean Song
2. Back to the Burning Shed
3. Swirl
4. Sweetheart Raw – full length version
5. Bleed
6. Only Baby – Breathe for Me
7. Only Baby – Be for Me
8. Long Day Fall
9. Painting Paradise – single re-recording
10. Heaven Taste

CD4. Flowermouth
1. Angel Gets Caught in the Beauty Trap
2. You Grow More Beautiful
3. Animal Ghost
4. Soft Shoulders
5. Shell of a Fighter
6. Teardrop Fall
7. Watching Over Me
8. Simple
9. Things Change

CD5. Radio Sessions 1992-94
1. Break Heaven – Nicky Campbell session
2. Heartcheat Pop – Nicky Campbell session
3. Housekeeping – Nicky Campbell session
4. Ocean Song – Hit the North session
5. Days in the Trees – Hit the North session
6. Taking It Like a Man – Hit the North session
7. Lovecry – GLR session
8. Days in the Trees – GLR session
9. Sweetheart Raw – The Way Out session
10. Teardrop Fall – acoustic session
11. Watching Over Me – acoustic session
12. Shell of a Fighter – acoustic session
13. You Grow More Beautiful – acoustic session

1. Flowermouth
2. Bleed
3. Life Is Elsewhere
4. Mouth Was Blue
5. Curtain Dream
6. Learn To Fear
7. See No Angels
8. Sit Silent
9. Swirl

Pre-order Housekeeping and Swagger.